Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Drifting aimlessly

I was sitting by the computer the other day, wondering what am I doing here?? Pressing soil? Filling up space? Doing anything actually worthwhile?

The answer came to me after awhile.   NOPE!...
Wasting time, energy,money, space and anything else you can waste and get away with.  I figure, I need a new hobby.  Don't know what, No Idea how much to spend on it. No Idea where to go to buy it, or even what  IT  is....

Oh well, I guess it's just the start of Kayak season,,Wash them, polish them, check on old equipment, that sort of stuff.   BORING!!!!! I went to the local kayak store to look at anything that could be interesting. All I bought was a hat for myself and a whistle for my daughter's life jacket...Exciting!!!

People have asked when are you going in? I usually say when the water gets a bit warmer. You know you have to get wet a bit getting in and out of the sneaky little things.  I haven't even put the racks on the roof of the car yet...NO RUSH!!

Next I will tell myself it's too hot.... wait for a cool day to do all this clean-up and set-up stuff...YEAH!!!.  When that day comes most likely I'll sleep in for a bit...

But wait!   soon I will put one of those little plastic wizzers in the water n off I'll go.. Streams, LOOK OUT!...RIVERS---MADNESS!...OCEANS?  NAH!   That's for the young and frisky.
It's like a rejuvenation when you get into it, and start paddling. No real destination, no speed, NO COMFORT!!!  Just go and and be one with the boat..drifting, gliding aimlessly in a lazy manner. 

Where was I? Oh yeah, lost in space again. Drifting.gliding aimlessly.....Life is good isn't it?

Saturday, May 5, 2012

THE STORY TELLER

ANYONE HAVE A SPARE KNEE?

Growing old sucks, but think of the alternate...coming up on the short side of 70, and all of  a sudden I have rust.  Not just everyday rust, but long time rust. not so you can see it, but on the inside. let me tell you what's happening...

Last month I started to have a small pain in the right leg. I assumed it was a hamsting muscle. It hurt, it ached, it went away, it came back... Aspirin that world famous painkiller we think will save the world worked a bit.   SOOO, I lived on that for about a week, Great!! Pain gone. Hurrah!! Youth wins out!!!

If you are a mature, fully formed middle-aged adult you know that is a complete lie. Aspirin is for  the hour.   Not a cure but just a Bandaid...I was walking up a flight of stairs this past friday about 4:00p.m. when I heard this horrendous sound.  Thunder? car crash? Building collapse?  None of the above.
This right leg of mine said"I've had it."  I QUIT! There I was having an arguement with my leg, right in the middle of the stairs.  Don't you quit on me now!  You supported me for these past years don't let me down now....

Sure, Crack, what do I care.. You are just a support system that has been on the job for many years..Looking for a retirement plan?  Are you looking for a buyout?.. NO, NO, No I say...
carry me back to the old homestead and we will talk.  Okay says the leg, limp, go ahead, drag youself
home, we will discuss it there. 

The bride sees me coming in, looking all my age, limping, cursing the leg, Damning the day it was made.. Sure I could complain to the manufacturer,  But they wouldn't listen anyhow..(Oh well)...
ICE!!! Please get me an ICE BAG??  (doesn't help).  Groan, Moan, whimp-out, wheese, complain,, Doesn't do any good. My dear wife does the good thing, Ice, feeling bad for me, helping whatever will work she tries.  NOTHING!!!!! ACHE, PAIN, NOTHING HELPS!!

Now we come to the sleep time.. wince... close eyes, show no pain... wow! This is going to be a tough night.  toss, turn, ache, I mean ACHE!!!  Little bits of sleep between pain.

Morning comes, that's it call the doctor.. Off I go, one  X RAY-two -XRAYS. Doctore says
You have a torn ligament in your ACL.. writes a perscription,  sells me a cain, and sends me on my way...Easy for him. Sends me to the Orthopedist.  Pain Killer and all working fine now..


Still Rusting,   now another doctor is going to tell me the same thing....Like I said, Growing old SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!